EXCLUSIVE Preview: BEST OF DC WAR Artist’s Edition — Kubert, Kirby and More!

The power and pain of war. Brought to you by the masters of the form.

Screen Shot 2016-06-25 at 1.31.11 PM

On 6/29, IDW is publishing the Best of DC War Artist’s Edition and it includes a number of brilliant, rare original-art pages by giants like Joe Kubert, Jack Kirby, Russ Heath, John Severin and Alex Toth.

There are complete stories and individual pages. It’s utterly magnificent.

We’re presenting an EXCLUSIVE PREVIEW in two parts. First, we showed off pages by Alex Toth as part of a birthday retrospective. Click here for that.

Here’s a small example:

Screen Shot 2016-06-25 at 1.20.54 PM

Now, we give you four pages of Kubert, two of Kirby (including an unpublished penciled page), two of Heath and two of Severin. 


The first three are from Our Army at War #196 (cover-dated Aug. 1968), which just might be the most famous Sgt. Rock story ever. The fourth page is from Our Army at War #194 (June 1968).

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 12.36.27 PM

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 12.35.55 PM

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 12.37.34 PM


The top spread is from Our Fighting Forces #160 (cover-dated Oct. 1975). The page below it is an unpublished pencil page for Our Fighting Forces #151.

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 12.25.15 PM

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 12.26.58 PM


From Our Army at War #212 (Nov. 1969)

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 12.31.10 PM



Top page from Our Army at War #265 (Feb. 1974). Second page from Our Fighting Forces #145 (Oct.-Nov. 1973).

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 12.30.35 PM

Screen Shot 2016-06-26 at 12.29.51 PM

Don’t forget to check out the pages by Alex Toth, here.

The Artist’s Edition offers these pages in their original, prepub sizes, so you can see these beauties in all their detailed glory, blemishes and all. It’ll run you in the $100-$115 range, depending on where you get it. Click here for details.

Author: Dan Greenfield

Share This Post On


  1. EXCLUSIVE Preview: BEST OF DC WAR Artist’s Edition — ALEX TOTH Spotlight | 13th Dimension, Comics, Creators, Culture - […] Here, we’re highlighting several (but not all) of the stunning pages by Alex Toth. Meanwhile, click here to see…

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: