EXCLUSIVE Preview: BATMAN ANNUAL #1 — Featuring NEAL ADAMS

Adams revisits his Batman Christmas Eve classic …

LettercolBatman03

Every Christmas Eve we run a tribute to one of Neal Adams’ first solo Batman stories — The Silent Night of the Batman, a gentle tale written by Mike Friedrich, from Batman #219, which hit stands late in 1969.

batman219-1

So, how cool is that Adams returns to the Darknight Detective this week (11/30) with the sequel, The Not So Silent Night of the Harley Quinn, written by Harley creator Paul Dini in the Batman Annual #1 anthology.

Observe:

bm_annual_1_1

bm_annual_1_2

bm_annual_1_3

bm_annual_1_4

Fantastic.

Interesting too that, like the original, the cover gives no hint of this particular story inside:

Finch on the left. Adams on the right.

David Finch on the left. Adams on the right. Oh, and check out that massive list of credits in Batman Annual #1. Looks like one hell of an anthology.

Ah, tradition.

Meanwhile, if you haven’t, check out 13 DAYS OF THE NEAL ADAMS GALLERY, our daily tour of Adams’ new permanent, public exhibit in Midtown Manhattan. Click here. It’s a must-see for fans of Adams, Batman and comics history.

screen-shot-2016-10-01-at-2-53-18-pm

Author: Dan Greenfield

Share This Post On

1 Comment

  1. Great to see the TRUE Batman costume again with the black trunks! THANK YOU, NEAL! PLEASE BRING BACK THE TRUE SUPERMAN COSTUME WITH THE RED TRUNKS NEXT! The characters were perfect as their creators designed them!

    Post a Reply

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. The 13 DAYS OF THE NEAL ADAMS GALLERY Index | 13th Dimension, Comics, Creators, Culture - […] — BONUS EXCLUSIVE PREVIEW: Adams teams up with Paul Dini to revisit the classic Christmas tale, The Silent Night…
  2. HOT PICKS! On Sale This Week! | 13th Dimension, Comics, Creators, Culture - […] Finch, Declan Shalvey, Jordie Bellaire, Bilquis Evely, Riley Rossmo and others. Pour the Batnog! (Click here for an EXCLUSIVE…

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: